Feb 082013

Author: Allison LeCain

Just as each person’s relationship is different, people express their love for one                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           another differently. The 5 Love Languages, a book

Cover of "The 5 Love Languages: The Secre...

The 5 Love Languages via Amazon

written by Gary Chapman, states that if you don’t understand your partner’s ‘love language’, then their love might go overlooked. By recognizing which love languages a person speaks, your appreciation and love for them can grow.

The five love languages are words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, quality time, and physical touch. Most people use a few of these to express their love for someone. Personally, my love languages are quality time and physical touch.

If you’ve met someone who speaks the same love languages as you, you’re lucky. Hold on to that one. The reality is that it doesn’t come that easy for most couples, but if you can understand which love languages your partner expresses, then you’ll be able to recognize when they are trying to show their love for you.

I’ve taken this into account with recent relationships I’ve had. For example, my boyfriend is not a big fan of physical touch in public, whereas I am. However, I’ve become OK with that because I know that he speaks a different love language. He uses acts of service to show me he cares, and I’ve got to say, I think I can give up hand-holding forever if I he continues to cook dinner for me every night.

Without knowing what love language your lover speaks, you could discount their love for you. This is part of maintaining a healthy, strong relationship that will withstand the test of time.



Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.