Jul 132010
Authors: Collegian Editorial Board

How nice would it be to get a bill from CSU for little to nothing each year?

Three incoming freshmen will be able to say that in four years.

Ryne Schroder of Campo and Madeleine Wilbur and Kevin Westhoff of Colorado Springs are the 2010-2011 recipients of full scholarships from the Monfort Scholars Program.

Established by the late Kenny Monfort and his wife Myra in 1999, the program furnishes annual scholarships for Colorado students who demonstrate superior scholastic ability, leadership, community service and outstanding character, according to a CSU press release.

Schroder is a graduate of Vilas School in Vilas and will major in civil and environmental engineering. He played football, basketball and baseball and was a member of the Lamar All-Star Baseball Team.
Wilbur, who is a graduate of Colorado Springs Christian School, plans to major in art. Wilbur was valedictorian and yearbook editor in chief, among other leadership positions.

Westhoff, who plans to major in mechanical engineering, graduated from Pine Creek High School in Colorado Springs. Westhoff is an Eagle Scout who served four years on student council and was the 2009-2010 student body president.

 Posted by at 5:39 pm

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.