Campus Spotlight

 Uncategorized
Aug 212006
 
Authors: GIULIA PECONE The Rocky Mountain Collegian

Kristen Singer,

senior history major

concentration: women’s studies

G: So why don’t you tell me your name.

K: My name is Kristen Singer.

G: And what is your job here?

K: I am part of the staff here at the GLBTSS (Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Student Services) office. I work the desk and help bring in guests. There are lots of different services we offer so I just basically handle the housekeeping around here.

G: What are you looking to do with your degree?

K: I want to teach college, so, I want to teach history at the collegiate level eventually.

G: OK, what would you say would probably be your favorite event in history?

K: I like learning about Martin Luther King (Jr.) and the black civil rights movement. That’s probably one of my favorite things to learn about, and just to see how hard they fought and how much they have achieved, and so, that’s really inspiring to me.

G: So, what do you think about discrimination nowadays?

K: As far as the GLBT community, I’ve witnessed discrimination and I think it is definitely still out there on the basis of race, religion, sexual orientation, so I’ve witnessed it personally and I have my own goals of trying to build bridges to stop it.

G: And are you homosexual?

K: Yeah, I identify as a lesbian.

G: How long have you known you were?

K: I came out to myself probably when I was around 16 and told my family, so junior year of high school. And I came out to my friends and everybody when I was a senior in high school. It’s been about six, seven years now.

G: How was that for you to come out? Was it hard for you, or did it come pretty easy?

K: Um, well actually for me my family was very accepting. I’m very lucky because a lot of families will completely disown or shun their children when they tell them that, but my family is very open-minded, very accepting, so my family was no problem. . I let people get to know me first, and then it doesn’t really affect the way they feel about me after I tell them my orientation.

G: Predicting the future from what you’ve experienced since you came out and what you’ve seen in history, where do you think homosexual marriages will be in this world 10 years from now?

K: I feel in 10 years hopefully the climate will be much more open and affirming. I personally would like to marry a partner some day. I’ve been in a monogamous relationship for two years and if she is the person I am going to be with the rest of my life, I’d like to be able to share a life with her in every way possible. And so I think that if we keep fighting, if we keep advocating equality, and working together with all the groups of people . and just start to gain those equal rights, then hopefully it will continue to expand and include sexual orientation, eventually.

G: Do you yourself want to have children one day?

K: Yes.

G: How would you go about that?

K: Um, well, there’s lots of different ways. There’s artificial insemination if my partner or me wanted to birth a child, which is just like any heterosexual couple would do with a sperm donation if they were infertile or something, or I’d love to adopt. I’ve explored a lot of different options, but I’m extremely maternal. I am, like, baby crazy, so I cannot wait to have children. That’s definitely going to be a part of my life. And I just think that I’ll be able to be a wonderful parent. I can’t wait, but not for a long time though. I need like, 12 years.

 Posted by at 5:00 pm

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.