Dec 102002
Authors: Collegian Staff

Twenty CSU football student-athletes – including six on the first team – were honored Tuesday by the Mountain West Conference with spots on the postseason all-star squad in voting conducted by the league’s coaches.

Quarterback Bradlee Van Pelt, who has a 16-6 record as the team’s starter over the past two seasons, was not only named to the first team, but was selected as the offensive player of the year. Van Pelt, a junior from Santa Barbara, Calif., was joined on the first-team offense by record-setting running back Cecil Sapp, H-back Joel Dreessen, defensive lineman Peter Hogan, offensive lineman Morgan Pears, and punt returner Dexter Wynn.

Sapp set a new school single-season rushing record with 1,495 yards entering the 2002 Liberty Bowl on Dec. 31 in Memphis, Tenn., against TCU. Dreessen finished fourth on the team in receiving, while Hogan ranks among the league leaders in tackles for losses. Pears is a three-year starter. Wynn was named to the team as a return specialist. He ranks among the national leaders in punt return average.

Six other student-athletes (offensive lineman Mark Dreyer, kicker Jeff Babcock, linebacker Eric Pauly, cornerbacks Rhett Nelson and Wynn, and punter Joey Huber) were named to the second team. Eight individuals (tight end Matt Bartz, safeties Benny Mastropaolo and David Vickers, wide receiver Chris Pittman, defensive linemen Bryan Save and Wallace Thomas, and linebackers Adam Wade and Drew Wood) received honorable mention.

Van Pelt is the sixth player under 10th-year coach Sonny Lubick to be named conference player of the year.

2002 MWC Team

Bradlee Van Pelt, Colorado State; Offensive Player of Year

Jamaal Brimmer, UNLV; Defensive Player of Year

Rocky Long, New Mexico; Coach of Year

First Team * Offense

QB Bradlee Van Pelt, Colorado State, Jr.

WR J.R. Tolver, San Diego State, Sr.

WR Kassim Osgood, San Diego State, Sr.

RB Cecil Sapp, Colorado State, Sr.

RB Dontrell Moore, New Mexico, Fr.

TE Joel Dreessen, Colorado Sate, So.

OL Jordan Gross, Utah, Sr.

OL Morgan Pears, Colorado State, Sr.

OL Adam Goldberg, Wyoming, Sr.

OL Dustin Rykert, BYU, Sr.

OL Tony Terrell, UNLV, Sr

K Joey Ashcroft, Air Force, Jr.

RS Dexter Wynn, Colorado State, Jr.


DL Peter Hogan, Colorado State, Sr.

DL Jason Kaufusi, Utah, Jr.

DL Brady Poppinga, BYU, So.

DL Garrett Smith, Utah, Sr.

LB Kirk Morrison, San Diego State, So.

LB Charles Moss, New Mexico, Sr.

LB Anthony Schlegel, Air Force, So.

DB Jamaal Brimmer, UNLV, So.

DB Wes Crawley, Air Force, Sr.

DB Brandon Ratcliff, New Mexico, Jr.

DB Antwoine Sanders, Utah, Jr.

P Matt Payne, BYU, So.

Second Team * Offense

QB Chance Harridge, Air Force, Jr.

WR Reno Mahe, BYU, Sr.

WR Earvin Johnson, UNLV, So.

RB Brandon Warfield, Utah, Sr.

RB Joe Haro, UNLV, Sr.

TE Spencer Nead, BYU, Sr.

OL Johnathan Ingram, San Diego State, Sr.

OL Claude Terrell, New Mexico, So.

OL Jason Lenzmeier, New Mexico, Jr.

OL Jesse Underbakke, Air Force, Jr.

OL Mark Dreyer, Colorado State, Jr.

K Jeff Babcock, Colorado State, So.

RS Dwight Counter, New Mexico, Jr.


DL Daniel Kegler, New Mexico, Jr.

DL D.J. Renteria, New Mexico, Jr.

DL Lauvale Sape, Utah, Sr.

DL Amon Arnold, San Diego State, Sr.

LB Adam Seward, UNLV, So.

LB Eric Pauly, Colorado State, Jr.

LB Sheldon Deckart, Utah, Sr.

DB Dave Revill, Utah, Jr.

DB Rhett Nelson, Colorado State, Sr.

DB Dexter Wynn, Colorado State, Jr.

DB Jeff Shoate, San Diego State, Jr.

P Joey Huber, Colorado State, Sr.

Honorable Mention (Colorado State): Matt Bartz, TE; Benny Mastropaolo, DB; Chris Pittman, WR; Bryan Save, DL; Wallace Thomas, DL; David Vickers, DB; Adam Wade, LB; Drew Wood, LB.

 Posted by at 5:00 pm

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.