Sapp named Rams’ MVP

Dec 092002
Authors: Collegian Staff

Cecil Sapp, who set a new CSU single-season rushing record this year, was named the Ram football team’s MVP during an awards banquet Sunday night attended by more than 550 people.

Sapp, a senior from Miami, Fla., enters the Rams’ Dec. 31 AXA

Liberty Bowl game with 1,495 yards rushing, breaking Steve Bartalo’s record set in 1986, 1,419 yards.

Sapp was named the team’s MVP in voting by the Rams’ players.

CSU coach Sonny Lubick presented Sapp with the Thurman “Fum”

McGraw Award as the team’s MVP Sunday night during a ceremony to honor the team’s departing senior class.

Also honored were punter Joey Huber, a senior from Littleton,

Colo., and wide receiver Joey Cuppari, from Westlake Village, Calif., for their academic excellence over their five-year stay in Fort Collins.

Cuppari and cornerback Rhett Nelson will receive their diplomas during CSU’s fall semester commencement exercises Dec. 20.

Nelson, a senior from Littleton, Colo., also received an award for distinguished community service for his work in local elementary and junior high schools.

Tight end Jack Zadigan from Arvada, Colo., and quarterback Joey

Kearney from Highlands Ranch, Colo., were named the offensive scout team’s players of the year.

Steve Olech from Boulder and Jon Spight from Fort Collins were named the defensive scout team players of the year.

 Posted by at 5:00 pm

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.